Author Topic: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch  (Read 10352 times)

Yokai

  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« on: February 06, 2014, 05:33:54 PM »
In Doom Builder 2 I got this:



But A&A gives me this:




Textures get shifted 6 or 7 units to the right left when in game.
It never minds for just walls, but for details like libraries and other similar things, it can get a bit annoying to manually trying to match them all with those 6 or 7 units shifting problem.

Any way to fix this? Thanks.


In addition, in the second image (the A&A screen) you can see that due to the lack of .LIT changes, there are some parts of the room that look darker than the original ones, making the map to look awful.
I don't mind using a blank .LIT, but I'm not sure if every light effect can be achieved without .LIT.

LysleShields

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Is the potion half full or half empty?
    • View Profile
    • Amulets & Armor
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2014, 09:04:55 AM »
Strange, I thought this was fixed already.  The textures in Doom Builder are flipped left to right from what they should be.  I'll check my files later tonight and see if I need to upload a new version of the editor.

There is also a second problem of Doom Builder using a different up/down position.  Your pictures also show this.  It was driving me crazy trying to find an appropriate fix, so I put it on hold.  One of the side of effects of building our own engine was that we didn't do it exactly like Doom.

As for .LIT files, yes, I'm going to put out a fix for that here this weekend.  Maybe I'll just make a tool/option in/with Doom Builder to do it  or just generate them correctly when loading the level (I prefer the latter).

Yokai

  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2014, 12:07:26 PM »
Strange, I thought this was fixed already.  The textures in Doom Builder are flipped left to right from what they should be.  I'll check my files later tonight and see if I need to upload a new version of the editor.

There is also a second problem of Doom Builder using a different up/down position.  Your pictures also show this.  It was driving me crazy trying to find an appropriate fix, so I put it on hold.  One of the side of effects of building our own engine was that we didn't do it exactly like Doom.

Yes, I noticed the vertical missalignment today.

As for .LIT files, yes, I'm going to put out a fix for that here this weekend.  Maybe I'll just make a tool/option in/with Doom Builder to do it  or just generate them correctly when loading the level (I prefer the latter).

Using the template blank .LIT makes all level lightning to be plain, so no effects are applied at all. This solves any problem. About sector glowing, I can just place Sector Glowing Thing Markers.

And this reminds me a problem I got yesterday, that I forgot.
In Q1M1, to finish the level you need to go to that room with the runes and scrolls, press a button and then the exit "door" gets oppened.

But I noticed something strange here: the button to open the exit cavern, has an action number #40, that is Raise Ceiling to Highest Ceiling.
But here comes the big problem: this linedef DOESN'T have any sector tag linked, and the sector that is the Cavern Door doesn't have a sector tag either.
It is like if you create a remote door and switch in Doom without any sector tag, the engine doesn't know what door open.

Again, the only explanation I could deduct is that the switch-door action is handled from a script in S30.SRP with a SlideCeiling() function, called from a WallPressed event.
That is the only explanation. Which leads me to the next problem: without having into account the Initialize event, all other events I have no idea how they really work, or how/when they are called.

For example, for the event WallPressed event, it is supposed that the code into this event will be called when a specific wall is pressed. But, how do I specify which wall number calls this event?

LysleShields

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Is the potion half full or half empty?
    • View Profile
    • Amulets & Armor
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2014, 12:44:38 AM »
Texture alignments fixed!  I got Doom Builder to correctly align textures.  I've taken all the updates from James and the above and created http://www.amuletsandarmor.com/download/AAClassicDoomBuilder_v0.02_BETA.zip .  We still cannot enter numbers yet for the triggers, but I'll look at that next.

I'll now look at the triggers of scripts and see if I can stream line that.  From one of the other posts, it sounds like we need a text field for entering a value instead of just a bunch of flags.

LysleShields

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Is the potion half full or half empty?
    • View Profile
    • Amulets & Armor
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2014, 07:54:19 PM »
Alright, fixed the Editor some more.  The facing of the creatures was wrong and the script actions were confusing.  There are no longer 'flags' in the things settings, just a value.  Sectors and linedef effects/specials are now just a number (used to trigger a script).

Download the latest at http://www.amuletsandarmor.com/download/AAClassicDoomBuilder_v0.02b_BETA.zip


el zee

  • DEFEND THYSELF
  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • elzee.co.nz
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2014, 01:52:59 AM »
I really gotta find some time to make a level - there's been so much awesome progress :D

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2014, 06:22:13 AM »
Cool! Great work btw! Gonna check this out and keep moving on my next level. Almost done with a new quest pack!

EDIT:
Oh right... while I'm commenting. I noticed that any texture starting with "AAVERT" is not found in game. I'm wondering if they're just named wrong. If I find anything more specific I'll follow up.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2014, 06:36:12 AM by peewee_RotA »

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2014, 01:44:06 PM »
So any existing maps are crashing after being saved with the new editor. It seems to have something to do with the items. After deleting all things on a map and replacing the player start it will load, but there doesn't seem to be any specific item type causing the problem.

The update did change all of the angles significantly. I reset all angles for all things to 0 just in case, but it made no change.


Sample map not working after update:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B53xwpRlaEsdNS1OZTdlQ1pyZTg/edit?usp=sharing


The error I'm getting is in ObjTypeGetRadius in OBJTYPE.C. A weird object type is being loaded with a randomized object type num. The error happens when the objecttype's radius is checked and it is exactly 1799 every time. This may not crash in release because it's hitting the error on a debug check.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2014, 03:12:41 PM by peewee_RotA »

el zee

  • DEFEND THYSELF
  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • elzee.co.nz
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2014, 11:23:28 PM »
Oh right... while I'm commenting. I noticed that any texture starting with "AAVERT" is not found in game. I'm wondering if they're just named wrong. If I find anything more specific I'll follow up.

AAVERT* was a texture I created for the AA doom mod, I think Lysle might have used the folder with all the AA textures I extracted + my extras...

LysleShields

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Is the potion half full or half empty?
    • View Profile
    • Amulets & Armor
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2014, 11:25:20 PM »
Yep.  It was too easy to grab el zee's png files.

Yes, I've confirmed there is a problem with saving objects.  Crap.  I know this was working for me originally.  I'll have to track down what is going on -- it's not obvious.

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2014, 06:18:08 AM »
O.k. cool. I'm sure the LUA version will soon support new textures. (If I can ever stop finding bugs for him to track down.. lol)

Those AAVERT textures are actually pretty cool. I had an awesome looking temple made out of them and had to reskin it. At first I figured they were duplicates but didn't see the other copies, so I settled with something else.



I did see something weird in a subsequent test. First thing's first, on the map above, when I deleted all the things and remade the player1 start, it spawned me outside of the level.

Then I deleted all of the things and recreated them one by one untile the whole level was repopulated. When I saved the map and reopened it, everything had been moved along to sit along the X and Y axis.

LysleShields

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Is the potion half full or half empty?
    • View Profile
    • Amulets & Armor
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2014, 08:12:08 PM »
Okay, fixed the problem with the messed up things (types, directions, position, etc.).  You can now download the latest at http://www.amuletsandarmor.com/download.htm and get the v0.02c version.

My son is now interested in making some maps, so that'll shake out some more bugs.

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2014, 03:33:27 PM »
Been messing around with the latest update and everything seems to be working fine.  :)

LysleShields

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Is the potion half full or half empty?
    • View Profile
    • Amulets & Armor
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2014, 12:13:38 PM »
Hmm, no, everything is NOT okay.

That fancy Value box I put on the things looks good -- until you save.  How in the world did I miss this?!  It keeps writing a zero for the values instead of the values you put on the things.  I could have swore I checked that out closely.

But I found where the problem was and, no, I didn't fix it before.

Okay, I've got a fix uploading and the next editor will be v1.02d.

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom Builder and In-Game offsets missmatch
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2014, 08:07:43 PM »
In that case, I appear to have been using an old version recently. It's weird though because all special item names are updated and the thing values are working and it has all the newer assets. Who knows.

I'll give the latest a try tomorrow. :)