Author Topic: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!  (Read 1311 times)

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« on: March 05, 2016, 12:04:50 AM »
OK, so I made a map from scratch in DoomBuilder2 with the asset files included on the A&A Website. It was a simple interior map with a few baddies, a Player 1 start, and an exit point. I copied the .I, .GEN, .LIT and Sxx.SRP file from map 301 per the Wiki's suggestion. I also did the MAPDESC copying of the files in that folder and I edited the files to fit with my map and corresponding map number. When I loaded it, it would hard crash the game. I went in, and deleted the baddies, and tried it again. This time it loaded, but when it loaded no map showed up, the screen remained showing the town dialog / GUI menu, even though the music began to play and I could swing my sword, cast spells, etc. etc. Whenever I would perform an action, like swinging my sword, for instance, the sword animation would drag across the screen, with every frame of the animation staying on screen. When I would abort the mission and go back to town, the game would then crash. I am not sure what to try at this point. I also read about the 3D Camera object that DoomBuilder puts in the map, but I could not locate this object / camera, so I don't know if that was even in my map or not.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2016, 12:09:12 AM by Chagero »

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 05:01:23 AM »
Can you upload the .MAP? I can inspect the crash a bit more from visual studio.

Most likely, those .LIT,.GEN, or .SRC files are bogus. I've updated the wiki with a fix

Here's a set of better companion files
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B53xwpRlaEsdTExSNTZCUndyLVk

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2016, 06:42:20 AM »
https://www.dropbox.com/s/91ne67oxsaboo2i/L999.map?dl=0
(does this link work for you?)

I tried those empty companion files you uploaded, but the only real difference it seemed to make is that after I load my map in-game, and the graphics do not appear as usual, I can exit out of the mission and make it back to town without crashing the game. lol

Every combination I have tried hasn't worked for me. I have tried overwriting the sample map with the companion files. I have tried making a map from scratch with those files, trying both simply renaming those files as well as deleting and starting over with a fresh copy of those files and with a new map number, editing both the MAPDESC and QUEST files to accommodate the change. Nothing seems to give results.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2016, 12:59:51 PM by Chagero »

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2016, 03:46:16 PM »
I messed with a bunch of things and finally found the culprit. It looks like the level must always have at least 2 sectors. I bet it has something to do with lighting.

Try adding another sector somewhere and trying again.

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2016, 04:29:52 PM »
Ah! I wondered if it had something to do with the sector being too big, too small, etc... But at least two sectors... that makes sense I suppose.. Thanks for digging into it peewee, it is much appreciated!

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2016, 04:53:59 PM »
OK I made a couple new sectors and it still crashes at quest beginning. After you attempt to run a map once does it write data into the companion files?

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2016, 06:05:03 PM »
Nope. They are read only.

Double check that you added a s999.srp. I forgot while testing it earlier  :-[

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2016, 06:40:25 PM »
Nope. They are read only.

Double check that you added a s999.srp. I forgot while testing it earlier  :-[

OK, and yes I did add the .srp file.

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2016, 08:34:09 PM »
OK, and yes I did add the .srp file.

You might try removing any things (game objects) from the level and only adding the player 1 start back in. There are quite a bit of broken thing numbers out there.

Also, use the new sector tool to make sure that each sector is unique. It's easy to accidentally cut an existing sector into pieces but all of the pieces still get considered the same number. It can cause strange behavior in any doom clone.

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2016, 08:43:10 PM »
OK, and yes I did add the .srp file.

You might try removing any things (game objects) from the level and only adding the player 1 start back in. There are quite a bit of broken thing numbers out there.

Also, use the new sector tool to make sure that each sector is unique. It's easy to accidentally cut an existing sector into pieces but all of the pieces still get considered the same number. It can cause strange behavior in any doom clone.

By the gods peewee, it worked!! I removed everything but the player 1 start and it worked! Thank you so much, once again!

I went back in after this initial success and tried to put a spider back in, but it crashed. Are the spiders unusable? It did work when I substituted the spider with a barbarian, so it does seem to suggest that.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2016, 08:48:42 PM by Chagero »

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2016, 12:24:54 AM »
A little sampling of the map I am working on! As you can see, it is still working in-game!

http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y382/Josh_Fuller/fg_sample_3-6-16_zpsjezkrlqt.png

peewee_RotA

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2016, 10:10:41 AM »
looks great

Chagero

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first attempt at making a map... crashed!
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2016, 05:13:27 PM »
Thanks peewee; I'll definitely let you guys try it before I release it, I want it to be up-to-par with the other releases so far.