Author Topic: AA suggestions for upcoming release  (Read 9401 times)

Xusilak

• View Profile
AA suggestions for upcoming release
« on: February 12, 2013, 09:05:30 PM »
Hi, I'm Xusilak. I'm a hobbyist game developer with aspirations of being an indie developer someday. A few people around here may or may not recognize me. I find AA to be pretty enjoyable (I've played it quite a few times over the past decade). I think it's awesome that the game developers are showing an interest in this game again; it's surreal to me seeing it come to life again after around 16 years of inactivity. I think with some fixes and feature additions it could be pretty great, so I've decided to put together a list of suggestions I think are notable. I'll probably add more later as I think of it, but for now I'm just going with the obvious usability improvements.

Note: I am in no way trying to imply the design decisions in the game don't work as-is. I'm merely suggesting things I think would make it more accessible to a modern audience.

Practical things:
  • Projectiles should have their collision checks disabled against the firing player, at least for a few seconds. A mage running forward while firing a few death clouds can quite easily kill himself without warning.
  • Wands should have an enforced cooldown (even if it's only half a second long).
  • It'd be nice if all classes had some way of resisting acid eventually.
  • The invulnerability spells (Death Ward, and the actual one) should probably be severely nerfed or removed. They slightly break the game. EDIT: This also includes the Orb of Defense, as there are ways to acquire it permanently, and it is oh-so-very-broken.
  • Various limits extensions, like being able to go above 300 HP and 300 Mana. This would help keep classes balanced at higher levels.
  • The Q1-L4 library level fix should be rolled into all releases.

Wishlist: