Author Topic: Windows version doesn't work for me  (Read 4342 times)

M59Gar

  • Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Windows version doesn't work for me
« on: September 14, 2013, 04:52:26 PM »
Win 7, x64

AntiMatter_16

  • Member
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows version doesn't work for me
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 06:27:19 PM »
Could you elaborate? What doesn't work? Does the game crash? Does it not launch? What steps did you take to install?

M59Gar

  • Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows version doesn't work for me
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2013, 09:39:39 AM »
The install from the msi went as normally as I could imagine. The game even loads and runs. I create a character, and then once I click 'Begin' and it goes to town, it never gets there. Instead, it stops working, with an immediate popup error of "A&A has stopped working". If I restart, the characters I created are there, but again, they can never actually enter the game.

TXI

  • Member
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Sword of Justice
    • View Profile
    • My Facebook account
Re: Windows version doesn't work for me
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2013, 05:31:51 PM »
Im playing on Windows Vista Ultimate, works brilliant :) First, make sure you started the installation with RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR (right click > run as administrator). After the installation , run setup and select proper sound and music drivers (or none :D ). The game should work, if not, try switching to WINDOWS XP in the COMPATIBILITY MOD tab under properties!  -=Good luck!=-
AA4E

M59Gar

  • Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows version doesn't work for me
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2013, 08:58:15 PM »
I'm confused, I have no setup option. The windows version MSI only installs an AAMUSIC and MAPDESC folders with a handful of files in them each.

Edit: Ok, I've gotten it to work. BUG! The windows installer will NOT change the directory if you type in a new directory. It will still install to a fully named "Amulets & Armor" folder EXCEPT for AAMUSIC and MAPDESC folders which will go into the directory you chose! I ctrl x -> ctrl v them into the right folder and it worked.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 09:00:29 PM by M59Gar »

TXI

  • Member
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Sword of Justice
    • View Profile
    • My Facebook account
Re: Windows version doesn't work for me
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2013, 09:46:09 PM »
Yes the same happened to me :)
AA4E

LysleShields

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: +6/-1
  • Is the potion half full or half empty?
    • View Profile
    • Amulets & Armor
Re: Windows version doesn't work for me
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2013, 10:11:37 AM »
Sorry for the confusion.  Looks like we have a problem with the installer.  It only likes installing to C:\Games\Amulets & Armor.

Got it on the bug list to fix.